Distinguished Fellowships News

Julia Mongo, Staff Writer and Advisor, Office of Distinguished Fellowships

In November, four MIT students were selected as 2017 Marshall Scholars. After graduating from MIT in June, they will begin graduate studies in the UK next fall.

Matthew Cavuto, a senior majoring in mechanical engineering with a concentration in biomechanics and biomedical devices, will pursue advanced research in prosthetics and assistive technologies at Imperial College London and Cambridge University. Zachary Hulcher, a senior majoring in physics and electrical engineering and computer science, will engage in high-energy physics research at Cambridge. Kevin Zhou, a senior majoring in physics and mathematics, will earn advanced degrees in applied mathematics and particle physics at Cambridge and Durham University. Daniel Zuo, who is graduating next spring with BS and MEng degrees in electrical engineering and computer science, will complete MPhil degrees in advanced computer science and machine learning at Cambridge. Another student was named an alternate.

Funded by the British government, the Marshall Scholarships are awarded to up to 40 Americans each year. The highly competitive scholarships finance two years of graduate study in any field at any U.K. institution. Scholars are selected on the basis of academic merit, leadership ability, and ambassadorial potential. More details about this year's Marshall Scholars can be found in the announcement in MIT News.

Four MIT students have also been named 2017 Schwarzman Scholars. Seniors Lisa Ho, Anita Liu, and Melody Liu, and alumna/graduate student Alix de Monts, were selected to join the second-year class of this newly-established prestigious program. Schwarzman Scholars participate in a special one-year master’s program at Tsinghua University in Beijing designed to prepare global leaders of the future. This year, over 2,000 candidates from 119 countries competed for 129 spots. To learn more, read the Schwartzman Scholars article in MIT News.

We are pleased to announce that the Office of Distinguished Fellowships is now part of Undergraduate Advising and Academic Programming (UAAP). Kim Benard will continue to lead the office and has a new title: Assistant Dean of Distinguished Fellowships and Academic Excellence. Julia Mongo will still be overseeing the Fulbright US Student Program. You can find Kim and the Office of Distinguished Fellowships at their new location in 7-104.