DUE News - 2016

DUE News Archives: All Years | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 
  • In a race up a spectacular and treacherous mountain road to the 14,110-foot summit, the KOMMIT Electric Vehicle Team (EVT), led by members of the MIT Electric Vehicle Team and professional rider Yoshihiro Kishimoto, finished second in the electric motorcycle division of the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb (PPIHC) on June 26 in Colorado.

  • Providing seamless, integrated wellness and support services for students is the impetus for realigning three key support organizations into the Division of Student Life (DSL), according to an email from Chancellor Cynthia Barnhart ’88 to the Office of Dean for Undergraduate Education (DUE), Office of Dean for Graduate Education (ODGE), and DSL today. The announcement as well as the effective date of the changes, July 1, coincides with the beginning of Suzy Nelson’s leadership of DSL as vice president and dean for student life.

  • MIT’s thriving maker culture is on display in ABC network’s “BattleBots” competition.

    A robot that can throw fire and saws into its opponents with a spinning blade; a 250-pound bot that can damage and throw competitors with a steel drum powered by its 100-horsepower motor; and a robot with two sets of arms to grab and hoist other machines: These are some of the robots developed by MIT-affiliated teams selected to compete in the second season of ABC’s “BattleBots.”

  • Initiated and led by students, MakerWorks fosters making with strong engineering focus.

    If there is one word that embodies the spirit of MakerWorks, the all-access Department of Mechanical Engineering (MechE) makerspace, it would have to be “students.” Not “maker,” although of course making is the cornerstone of the space; not “fun” or “cool,” although according to members it’s both of those things; not even “prototyping,” despite the fact that a majority of students use it for that.

  • Congratulations to our 2016 Infinite Mile Award winners!

    Individual Recipients and Category

    Customer Service
    James Blessing, Admissions

    Communication & Collaboration
    Leslie Bottari, UAAP
    Linda Rabieh, Concourse

    Aleshia Carlsen-Bryan, GECD

    Innovation & Creativity
    Jona Repishi, D-Lab

    Brenna Heintz, Admissions

  • Each year, UAAP recognizes one outstanding and extraordinary associate advisor among 200 students that participate in the Associate Advisor Program. The number of nominations is a testament to how much both faculty and students value and are committed to freshman advising.

    Rebecca Gallivan, Junior in Materials Science and Engineering
    Associate Advisor for Professor Ezra Glenn, Urban Studies and Planning

  • UROP Mentor Awards

    The UAAP solicits nominations every year from students for the UROP Mentor of the Year Awards. An award is presented to one MIT faculty member and one graduate student/non- faculty UROP supervisor who have demonstrated exceptional mentorship and teaching in a research setting.

    UROP students submitted many nominations this year, making the selection highly competitive. This year’s Outstanding UROP Mentor Award recipients are:

  • Relationships with faculty are critical in not only advising and guiding students, but helping them think through their academic plans, such as pursuing internships and global experiences, engaging in UROP, and contemplating future plans for graduate school or professional work. This year, the UAAP recognized seven extraordinary advisors in the following distinct categories:

  • On June 3, 2016, the MIT ROTC units revived a proud tradition by conducting the commissioning ceremony onboard the USS Constitution. The oldest commissioned warship in the US Navy, Constitution and her crew were gracious guests. Gifted with gorgeous weather, family, friends, and alumni joined the Institute’s newest commissioned military officers, Ensign Grace Cassidy, Second Lieutenant Matthew Deyo, Second Lieutenant Daniel Getty, Ensign Vincent Kindfuller, Second Lieutenant Alyssa Pybus, and Ensign Carolena Ruprecht, to celebrate their assumption of duty.

  • UAAP is pleased to announce the selection of three distinguished MIT faculty for the 2016 Institute Convocation awards: