DUE News - All Years

DUE News Archives: All Years | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 
  • Relationships with faculty are critical in not only advising and guiding students, but helping them think through their academic plans, such as pursuing internships and global experiences, engaging in UROP, and contemplating future plans for graduate school or professional work. This year, the UAAP recognized seven extraordinary advisors in the following distinct categories:

  • UROP Mentor Awards

    The UAAP solicits nominations every year from students for the UROP Mentor of the Year Awards. An award is presented to one MIT faculty member and one graduate student/non- faculty UROP supervisor who have demonstrated exceptional mentorship and teaching in a research setting.

    UROP students submitted many nominations this year, making the selection highly competitive. This year’s Outstanding UROP Mentor Award recipients are:

  • On June 3, 2016, the MIT ROTC units revived a proud tradition by conducting the commissioning ceremony onboard the USS Constitution. The oldest commissioned warship in the US Navy, Constitution and her crew were gracious guests. Gifted with gorgeous weather, family, friends, and alumni joined the Institute’s newest commissioned military officers, Ensign Grace Cassidy, Second Lieutenant Matthew Deyo, Second Lieutenant Daniel Getty, Ensign Vincent Kindfuller, Second Lieutenant Alyssa Pybus, and Ensign Carolena Ruprecht, to celebrate their assumption of duty.

  • Each year, GECD organizes data from two graduating student surveys into public reports.The data, which is now available on GECD's website, lends insight into what students do after graduation and during their summers. The surveys consist of the Graduating Student Survey, sent to undergraduate and master’s graduates, and the Earned Doctorate Survey, which polls graduate students completing PhDs.

  • GECD photo contest 2016Global Education holds an annual photo contest to both promote global awareness on campus and to celebrate students’ global experiences.

  • As a part of MIT’s Open House celebrating 100 years in Cambridge, Student Disabilities Services (SDS) and the Assistive Technology Information Center (ATIC) united to showcase technology used by MIT students with disabilities. A panel of five current and past students with varying barriers to access shared how they have overcome adversity through the use of technology and disability services.

    Included in the panel was graduate student David Hayden, who developed and uses technology to help students with low vision. His device mounts on a desk and is used to enlarge classroom whiteboards and project the image onto students’ laptop screens for easier note-taking, allowing them to control the size, contrast, and other visual features of the image. Many students with visual disabilities at MIT and beyond currently benefit from this technology.

    Another student panelist was alumnus Ian Smith, who spoke about his journey here at MIT with regard to his hearing loss...

  • Awards honor faculty and instructors who have effectively leveraged digital technology to improve teaching and learning at MIT.

    This year marks the launch of the MIT Teaching with Digital Technology Awards. Co-sponsored by the Office of Digital Learning (ODL), the Dean of Undergraduate Education (DUE) and the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education (ODGE), the student-nominated awards recognize faculty and instructors who have effectively leveraged digital technology to improve teaching and learning at MIT. The winners are:

  • DUE welcomed a number of new employees between April 1 and June 30, 2016. Congratulations to all!

  • The following DUE staff were promoted during the 2015-16 year. Congratulations!

    Admissions Office

    Tameika Butler
    Jessica Ch’ng
    Kristine Guay
    Holly Hinman    
    Chris Peterson
    Stu Schmill
    Tiffany Velez


    Melissa Mangino

    Global Education and Career Development

    Aleshia Carlsen-Bryan
    Meredith Pepin
    Sara Stratton
    Lily Zhang

    Office of Minority Education

    Deolinda Branch
    Somiya Kalloo

  • On May 11, the First Generation Program (FGP) held a recognition ceremony to celebrate MIT seniors who will be the first in their families to graduate from college. Students came together with a handful of first generation MIT faculty to connect one last time before the end of the semester, and to celebrate their achievements.First Generation Program reception for graduating seniors