Mentoring And Advising News - 2013

DUE News Archives: All Years | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 
  • UAAP Faculty-Freshmen ReceptionsInspired by Dean for Undergraduate Education Dennis Freeman, the Office of Undergraduate Advising and Academic Programming (UAAP) organized six Faculty-Freshman Receptions in October.

  • Each year, the Office of Undergraduate Advising and Academic Programming coordinates the selection MIT faculty for three Institute Convocation awards. We were pleased with both the number and quality of nominations, which spoke to the contributions of our Institute’s distinguished faculty. The following faculty are this year’s award recipients:

    Sam Allen: Arthur Smith Award for Lifelong Contributions to Student Life and Learning

    Professor Sam Allen retires in June after 30 years dedicated to teaching and advising students. He has helped hundreds of students find their place at MIT, nurturing their growth and success.  A “founding father” of the Freshman Advising Seminar program, Prof. Allen has taught Modern Blacksmithing and Physical Metallurgy every year since 1986. Nominators enthusiastically agree that he is deserving of the Arthur C. Smith Award.

    Allan Adams: Everett Moore Baker Award for Excellence in Teaching

    Professor Adams “gets applause each and every time he lectures.” He has developed a reputation as an outstanding teacher.  His emails of encouragement, recognition and individualized feedback spur students to excel. Nominations testify to his infectious enthusiasm and his genuine concern for students’ well-being.  Prof. Adams truly represents excellence in teaching.

    Heidi Nepf: Earll Murman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

    Professor Nepf has achieved excellence in undergraduate advising.  Nominators spoke to how caring and involved Prof. Nepf is with students, never hesitating to put forth extra time for a students in need.  She is someone who stimulates intellectual achievement and leads by example, inspiring others to follow her example.  She is most deserving of the Earll Murman Award.

    Additionally, the UAAP reviewed nominations for Outstanding Freshman Advisor, Associate Advisor, UROP Faculty Mentor, and UROP Graduate Student Mentor. It was an honor to select the best of the best who will be recognized at a luncheon celebration on May 20. The honorees include: