2010 UROP Awards & Eloranta Research Fellowship Recipients

By Sara Nelson, Administrative Assistant II, UROP, UAAP

Outstanding UROP Mentor AwardsUROP logo
This year’s Outstanding UROP Mentor Awards were presented to:

Assistant Professor Paulo Lozano (Aeronautics & Astronautics)
Graduate Student Venkataramanan Soundararajan (Biological Engineering).

Recipients were selected from UROP students’ nominations of research mentors who have demonstrated exceptional guidance and teaching in a research setting.

Randolph G. Wei UROP Award
The Randolph G. Wei UROP Award is presented each spring to the undergraduate who has made the most outstanding contribution in undergraduate research at the interface of the life sciences and engineering.

The Wei Award Committee selected two recipients for 2010:

Ryan Flynn ‘10, who was nominated for the award by his UROP faculty supervisor, Prof. Phillip Sharp, Biology
Melissa Gymrek ‘11 who was nominated by Prof. Douglas Lauffenburger, Biological Engineering

The Randolph G. Wei UROP Award was established in October 1986 in memory of Randolph G. Wei, a member of the MIT Class of 1987, who had majored in biology and chemical engineering and was an active UROP participant.

The Randolph G. Wei UROP Award Committee members are: Chair, Prof. Leonard Guarente (Biology), Institute Professor Daniel I. C. Wang (Chemical Engineering), Institute Professor Phillip Sharp (Biology) and Melissa Martin-Greene (Program Coordinator, UROP).

Peter J. Eloranta Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships
The Peter J. Eloranta Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships are awarded to MIT undergraduates for interesting and novel research of student-initiated ideas developed outside the normal curriculum. Each fellowship provides $6,000 for the students to conduct their summer research in any field. This year’s recipients and their projects selected by the Eloranta Fellowship Committee are:

Michael Paul Medlock-Walton '10 - Clutter: Connecting Scratch Projects to Teach Software Engineering
Peter Reinhardt '12 - Online, Collaborative Latex Environment: Modernizing Technical Documentation
Yang Yang '11 - Dancing to Your Own Music
Hiroshi Mendoza '10 - Flexible Plastic Luminescent Solar Concentrator
Matt Lord '10 - Walt Whitman in Nineteenth-Century Cultural History

The Fellowships were established in 1969 thanks to a gift from the late Dr. Edwin H. Land, founder of the Polaroid Corporation and inventor of instant photography. The Fellowships were created in memory of Peter J. Eloranta, the only son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Vaite Eloranta. Mr. Eloranta was an employee of the Polaroid Corporation and member of the MIT Class of ‘68.