Thirteen from MIT Receive Fulbright Scholarships and One Receives Merage Scholarship

By Kim Benard, Program Advisor for Distinguished Fellowships, Global Education Office

Fulbright scholarships have given students a role in U.S. foreign relations since their inception in 1946. More than 7,000 students are selected for the program each year based on their achievement and potential, and are individuals who represent the full diversity of their respective societies. Each grant covers the costs of travel abroad and living expenses for one academic year.

2 recent MIT graduates and 11 current students have been awarded Fulbright scholarships to study abroad for the 2009-2010 academic year. This year’s tally of 13 Fulbright winners is MIT’s highest on record, eclipsing the nine MIT students who were awarded the scholarships in 2003.

The Fulbright scholarship winners from MIT are:
Koyel Bhattacharyya, Nathan Cisneros, Greg Distelhorst, Erica Dobbs, Nicholas DuBroff, Xaq Frohlich, Jennifer Furstenau, Anneka Lenssen, John Lopez, Matt Orosz,
Amanda Shing, Gabrielle Kruks-Wisner, and Rebecca Wood.

Siamrut Patanavanich was recently named a Merage Scholar. The two-year, $20,000 stipend was created by Paul and Lilly Merage, U.S. immigrants who established the Merage Foundation for the American Dream to recognize and reward academically outstanding immigrant students. Apart from the stipend, winners will secure networking and mentoring support from the Foundation throughout their careers.