2008 Peter J. Eloranta Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships


The Peter J. Eloranta Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships are awarded to MIT undergraduates for interesting and novel research of student-initiated ideas developed outside the normal curriculum. Each fellowship provides $6,000 for the students to conduct their summer research in any field. This year’s recipients and their projects selected by the Eloranta Fellowship Committee are:

Emilienne Repak, ’09 - The Pied Piper of the Peripheral Nervous System: Comparing Guidance Cues for Directing Neuronal Growth

Shane W. Colton, '08 - Realization of a Scale Electric Vehicle with Capacitive Regeneration and Launch Assist

Lynne Tye, '10 - The Role of Dopamine in the Formation of Emotional Memories
Alec Resnick, '08 and Sarah Ackley, '08 - Design and Construction of a Low-Cost, Educational NMR Kit

David Reshef, '08 - Computational and Visual Approach to Understanding the Vibrio Cholera Epidemic

Jessica Schirmer, '08 - 'The Words to Say It': Narratives of Class Transition